Book Groups

Keep an eye our here for dates, times and next books for each of our book groups. Don’t forget to check out social media for updates too:


Wednesday Book Group

Date: Wednesday, 24th April 2024, 7:00pm in the bookshop.

Speak Of The Devil

by Rose Wilding

Seven women stand in shock in a seedy hotel room; a man’s severed head sits in the centre of the floor. Each of the women – the wife, the teenager, the ex, the journalist, the colleague, the friend, and the woman who raised him – has a very good reason to have done it, yet each swears she didn’t. In order to protect each other, they must figure out who did.

Against the ticking clock of a murder investigation, each woman’s secret is brought to light as the connections between them converge to reveal a killer. A beautifully written debut thriller about love, loyalty, and manipulation, Speak of the Devil explores the roles in which women are cast in the lives of terrible men . . . and the fallout when they refuse to stay silent for one moment longer.

The Romance Plot: Our Adult Only (18+) Monthly Romance Book Group

Date: 28th May 19:00pm – 20:00pm. In the bookshop.

The Dead Romantics

By Ashley Poston

Florence Day is a ghost-writer with one big problem. She’s supposed to be penning swoon-worthy novels for a famous romance author but, after a bad break-up, Florence no longer believes in love. And when her strict (but undeniably hot) new editor, Benji Andor, won’t give her an extension on her book deadline, Florence prepares to kiss her career goodbye.

When tragedy strikes and Florence has to head home, the last thing she expects to see is a ghost at her front door. Not just any ghost, however, but the stern form of her still very hot – yet now unquestionably dead – new editor. As sparks start to fly between them, Florence tells herself she can’t be falling for a ghost – even an infuriatingly sexy one.

But can Benji help Florence to realise love isn’t dead, after all? 

Our ‘Hey YA’ Young Adult (16+) Book Group is every other month and online!

Next Date: 27th May 19:00pm – 20:00pm

Legendborn

By Tracy Deonn

*Join our Facebook Group to access our zoom meetings!

After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants to escape.

A residential programme for bright high-schoolers seems like the perfect opportunity – until she witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus . . .

A flying demon feeding on human energies. A secret society of so-called “Legendborn” that hunt the creatures down. A mysterious mage who calls himself a “Merlin” and who attempts – and fails – to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw.

The mage’s failure unlocks Bree’s own unique magic and a buried memory about her mother. Now Bree will do whatever it takes to discover the truth, even infiltrate the Legendborn. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur’s knights and foretell a magical war, Bree must decide how far she’ll go for the truth.

Should she use her magic to take the society down – or join the fight

Our Children’s and High Rise Readers Book Groups are on Saturday, 25th May in the bookshop!

Young Bookworms (ages 6-9) 2:00pm to 2:40pm

 

The Cloud Thief by James Nicol

A gorgeously cosy fantasy novel from the acclaimed author of The Apprentice Witch series and The Spell Tailors – perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli and Diana Wynne Jones. Mara’s village needs more rain. Without it, the crops and animals will suffer.  But in a world where clouds are brought and sold, the only way Mara can get one is to steal it.

But when is it right to do something wrong? And is she brave enough to take on the cloud makers and their greedy trade

High Rise Readers (ages 10-12) 2:45pm to 3:25pm

Pop! : Fizzy drinks. A trillion dollars. The adventure that ends with a bang

An outrageous theft. A huge reward. Two friends on the run.

An uproariously funny, action-packed new adventure about the power of courage, standing up for what’s right, and fizzy drinks, from the award-winning author of Kick. Queenie stares out at the ocean and dreams of a world beyond her small-town. She’s about to get her wish…

When the priceless recipe to the world’s most popular drink – thought to be lost forever – washes up at her feet, Queenie’s life instantly changes. Everyone wants it, and with a $10 million bounty on her head, Queenie’s soon on the run. Pursued by bounty hunters, black-ops helicopters and angry mobs, Queenie’s journey involves a trip to Area 51, a man-eating alligator and an unlikely new friend, Todd.

But being on the run also makes Queenie begin to see the world around her more clearly – a world in which a big corporation’s excess has left the planet covered in its plastic bottles and waste. Suddenly, the home she always dreamed of escaping, and the ocean she grew up with and took for granted, don’t seem so bad. If Queenie and Todd can bring down the bad guys, maybe she can go back home and make a difference…