“The most magical little bookshop...

Shop Events

Check out our upcoming events:

An Evening with Annie Garthwaite

We are so excited to invite you to our first author event in the shop since re-opening and expanding into our new space! We are over the moon to have Hartlepool native Annie Garthwaite join us on Thursday 23rd September, 7:00 pm to discuss her debut novel, Cecily, followed by an opportunity to purchase a signed copy at £14.99.

This book is perfect for lovers of historical fiction, strong female characters, historical heroines, and books by Hilary Mantel, Alsion Weir or Philippa Gregory.

Tickets are £5, which includes a glass of wine and 15% of any books purchased on the night.

The event will take place Thursday 23rd September, 7:00 pm at DRAKE – The Bookshop, Silver Street, Stockton, TS18 1SX






Our first live event of 2021: CRIME ROCKS!

We are excited to invite you to join two talented North East Writers for an evening of live music and conversation as we launch Independent Bookshop Weeks with our first live author event of 2021 at NE Volume Music Bar in Stockton. Get your tickets here!

Teesside author Fiona Erskine, writer of the much acclaimed Chemical Detective, and follow-up Chemical Reaction is launching a new novel Phosphate Rocks:A Death in Ten Objects and is joined by Newcastle writer, Trevor Wood, who is also launching his new book One Way Street, follow-up to the prize winning A Man on the Street. They will be talking about their books and answering audience questions as well as signing copies of their books. Musical entertainment will be provided by Andrew Johnson.

Phosphate Rocks by Fiona Erskine

AUTHOR OF THE CHEMICAL DETECTIVE SERIES

As the old chemical works in Leith are demolished a long deceased body encrusted in phosphate rock is discovered. Seated at a card table he has ten objects laid out in front of him. Whose body is it? How did he die and what is the significance of the objects?

One Way Street by Trevor Wood

A gritty and addictive crime thriller. For fans of Val McDermid & Ian Rankin

‘FRESH, ORIGINAL, AUTHENTIC AND GRITTY’ – LEE CHILD

The second gritty Newcastle-set thriller in this unforgettable series about a homeless veteran turned local sleuth and vigilante. Follow up to the highly acclaimed The Man on the Street. A series of bizarre drug-related deaths among runaway teenagers has set the North East’s homeless community on edge. The word on the street is that a rogue batch of Spice – the zombie drug sweeping the inner cities – is to blame, but when one of Jimmy’s few close friends is caught up in the carnage, loyalty compels him to find out what’s really going on. One Way Street sees the welcome return of Jimmy Mullen, the homeless, PTSD-suffering, veteran as he attempts to rebuild his life following the events in The Man on the Street. As his probation officer constantly reminds him: all he needs to do is keep out of trouble. Sadly for him, trouble seems to have a habit of tracking Jimmy down.


Previous Events

Mighty QI Elves Quiz NightSunday, 6th December 6:30-8:30pm

What better way to spend a dark December evening than to huddle together in front of the screen and pit your wits against the mighty QI Elves.

Get your ticket here!

Join us and Alex Bell, Jack Chambers and James Rawson from QI for a Sunday-night quiz to keep the ‘little grey cells’ working. Gather your smartest friends and family (whether they be in the same room or connected via phone or FaceTime) to make a team of four. Purchase just one ticket for £15 per team (of four) to compete.

One ticket includes one copy of Funny You Should Ask… Your Questions Answered by the QI Elves (worth £12.99).

Extra copies for the team members or for the perfect Christmas gift can be bought at a discounted price of £10.00 each. Remember, teams are a maximum of four people & NO GOOGLING!

Prizes for the first three highest-scoring teams (tie-breaker question at the ready!).

Check out our Facebook Live chats for our Book Groups. Alice Lickens and Judith Eagle were great sports as our first Facebook Live guests. As ever it was fascinating hearing the back stories and sneaky snippets of futures works. Click here and join the group to see the videos.

Check out all our book group books here


All our book groups are online at the minute. Join our Wednesday evening group, which is uniquely on a Thursday at the minute (the same time as our usual online book group). Again, ask to join the group here.

If you like what you hear, you can buy this month’s book here


Scroll to top